top of page

To a Spiritual Teacher


It’s been many years now-

I’ve been drowning.

Drowning in this dark ocean,

being pulled in by the swirls of its current.

And My heart-

It is drowning deepest.

It splutters, gasps and cries

for just a breath

of the cooling breeze of love.

It was the end I thought,

for this love

was nowhere to be found.

And then you came,

Like the soothing silver moon

on a dark and scary night,

to save another drowning soul

Bringing with you, an overflowing boat of love

and it felt like I could finally breathe again.

You revealed to me

through your boundless compassion,

the real meaning of the Holy Name,

My only saving grace-

The boat that will take me to the shores

Of my dearest Radhe Shyam.

On that fateful day

The Holy Name revealed to me

Lessons I’ll hold closest to my heart,

For, I’d failed to see

That Vrindavana was in the Holy Name

and my only true saving grace

was to be a servant of the servant,

Of the very embodiment of grace

For she is flowing in every beat of this name.

Her Love-

So giving so fulfilling and overwhelming

Is my very breath of life.

How will I ever repay this debt?

bottom of page